Fat Boy Fresh

fred_the_godson_funkmaster_flex_Freestyle-560x560

South Bronx native, Fred the Godson, comes from a family of music lovers. He took his own musical abilities to the studio for the first time in 2005, in the wake of hefty personal achievements and challenges.

The Godson reflects on his life.

FredTheGodSon: I never really spoke up about my life, but I decided to talk about it in a documentary that HipHopDX put out. I’m opening up about my upbringing and I never really did that. So, “Fred The Godson” is out in the open, now.

[Check out this 4 part documentary entitled “hiStory” exclusively on HipHopDX].

MzHanaG: The name “Fat Boy Fresh” is the name of your movement and recent mixtape. What is your perspective on the entertainers of the music industry, with slightly more to love than some?

FredTheGodSon: People used to call me fat so I took it and ran with it. It is what it is. I always used to stay with a bad joint (young lady). My wife and daughter are beautiful, and I’m fat, but I’m fresh. I suffer from diabetes, asthma, high blood pressure and take 12 pills a day. That said, I was told that I wouldn’t be able to step on a stage or do certain things. So everything I do is special. Biggie’s lyrics were crazy, but what it made it crazier, was that he was so big. I can get on stage, and I can run and play basketball. If a regular skinny dude is bouncing the ball through his legs and laying up the ball, you can expect that. But when Fred comes through and does it, that’s special. Every day for me is special.

MzHanaG: Please explain what you mean by every day being special.

FredTheGodSon: My family had a fire and I almost died in the fire. We lived in the shelter for awhile and with all these illnesses, it was hard. To this day it’s hard. Every day I wake up and go to the medicine cabinet. I don’t want to lose my breath or get dizzy. But I know God put me here for a reason and every day I just smile. Every day is special for me.

MzHanaG: There have been a lot of changes in commercial music since you started on your professionally journey a decade ago. What’s your opinion of the changes?

FredTheGodSon: I personally never guessed that it would be the way it is now, but to each his own. There’s a time and a place for everything. There’s trap music which is more for the club, there’s twerk music which is more for the ladies, and you have the bars which has the metaphors and the punch lines – which is more the Fred The Godson lane. There’s a lot of music on the radio now that ten years ago you would have laughed at. What I don’t like about the way things are now, is that it’s not about the music; it’s about what the radio makes us listen to. You find yourself listening to certain songs all the time that you may not like, but you start singing it to yourself while you’re in the house because you can’t get it out of your head.

MzHanaG: There are many displaced families in New York due to the increased cost of living. You survived the shelter and your health ailments. What is your advice to young people who are struggling with some of the same challenges?

FredTheGodSon: Growing up, drugs hit my family (my father in particular) hard. My parents, who were together since sixth grade, stayed together and they raised us. But, crack destroyed my family. I felt like I couldn’t believe that this was mylife. It seemed like there was nothing. Sometimes I was hungry. My mother was young with six of us. She took me to church as often as she could so I could learn how to pray and learn to be patient. My mother always told me, “Let go and let God.” My advice is pray every day and know that things get better. Whoever is out there struggling, have faith in God and faith in yourself. You’re hearing this from somebody who had nothing. I live in NYC, and I used to not have 65 cents; now my bills exceed $6,500.00 every month, and I’m never late paying on anything. Believe in yourself. Go hard. There’s a lot of jealousy and negativity out here. Just stay positive and believe that everything will go right. That’s how I go about it.

MzHanaG: While you are reliant on medications for your condition, does that interfere with your ability to enjoy a drink every now and then?

FredTheGodSon: I rarely drink, but when I do I like to drink champagne. I never smoked a day in my life, not because of the medicine, but because it’s just not me. Some future musicians are under the assumption that they have to be co-dependent on drugs and alcohol to stimulate their minds, but I write my best rhymes while I’m sober. Always have.

MzHanaG: What are your future plans?

FredTheGodSon: I don’t have any future plans for any one thing. There’s a lot of things that I do: I’m in to merchandising and sports. But, right now I’m so into my daughter and want to be the best Dad to her, and the best older brother and take care of everybody. My plans are to continue to be here to enjoy the things that are important.

For more on Fred The Godson check out his recent mixtape Fat Boy Fresh on datpiff and new video.

 

Fred_The_Godson_Fat_Boy_Fresh-front-large

###

Leave a Reply

