Nas to Release Time Is Illmatic Documentary

nas-time-is-illmatic-doc-tribeca-premiere

Nas says that rap is a young man’s game in many ways, and that he’s excited to be releasing new music.

In celebration of the 20-year anniversary of his debut album, Illmatic, Nas will release documentary Time Is Illmatic about the renowned album project. He says that doing the documentary inspired him. He told MTV’s Rob Markman, “This documentary sparked too much; it sparked me up in a major way.”

The inspiration helped Nas to see how he fit into the grand puzzle of the music industry: “It’s a younger man’s game today in a lot of ways, so I was happy to put new music out now more than I ever had before,” he says. “It took a lot of time striking the iron, breaking down walls to be where I am. What better place and time than to put out something new when the world is watching?”

Nas says of newly arrived emcees in the game, “I like that; it makes me happy. Now, I’m in a greater place when it comes to putting out records because you won’t mix us up.”

But, some have mixed Nas up with at least one younger rapper – Your Old Droog, who just earlier this year released a project that some believed to be a secret Nas EP, with the voice altered. It’s was a theory that was widely debated on social media platforms, none of which Nas caught wind of.  He says: “I have no idea what you’re talking about,” (regarding Your Old Droog). “I don’t even know what a ‘secret EP’ is. I don’t want a secret EP. I want you to know it’s me when I drop.”

 

Additional Press:

http://starforcehiphop.com/time-is-illmatic

 

Leave a Reply

