LL Cool J Celebrates 25 Years


“Dont call it a comeback, I been here for years.”

Def Jam Records‘ flagship artist, LL Cool J, broke out onto Los Angeles’s (Top 40 Charts), and the world, in 1984. In celebration of the 25th Anniversary of Cool J’s classic album, Mama Said Knock You Out, Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) will release a two-CD Deluxe Edition and vinyl reissue on December 9, also in recognition of Def Jam’s year-long celebration of its 30-year existence.

The two-CD version will include the original album, an extra 14-track disc of remixes of the release’s five singles; including the title cut, “Around the Way Girl,” “The Boomin’ System,” “6 Minutes of Pleasure” and classic diss record “To Da Break Of Dawn,” and bonuses “Eat Em Up L Chill” and the main title track from the 1991 film Strictly Business. The original vinyl will also be reissued with an updated treatment showcasing LL’s new, eye-popping 3D cover featuring a color version of the original’s black and white gold jewelry.

The Marley Marl-produced album (with Vogue Italy magazine shoot-inspired front cover released on August 27, 1990) went on to sell more than two million copies. The title track from Mama Said Knock You Out reached No. 17 on Billboard’s Hot 100 and was certified gold by the RIAA, while LL COOL J won Best Rap Solo Performance at the 1992 Grammy® Awards. The double-platinum album was listed in The Source’s “100 Best Rap Albums” in 2005.

COOL J is a two-time Grammy® Award winner, recording artist, actor, author, four-time NAACP Image Award winner, entrepreneur and philanthropist. LL currently stars in the CBS primetime drama series “NCIS: LOS ANGELES.” He has hosted the Grammy® Awards for the past three years and is a two-time Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominee. He is the first rap artist to accrue ten consecutive platinum-plus selling albums, and presently working on new music for the upcoming release of the G.O.A.T. 2. Album.

Disc 1 (The Album)
1. The Boomin’ System
2. Around The Way Girl
3. Eat Em Up L Chill
4. Mr. Goodyear
5. Murdergram
6. Cheesy Rat Blues
7. Farmers Blvd.
8. Mama Said Knock You Out
9. Milky Cereal
10. Jingling Baby (Remixed But Still Jingling Mix)
11. To Da Break Of Dawn
12. 6 Minutes Of Pleasure
13. Illegal Search
14. The Power Of God
DISC 2 (Bonus Tracks)
1. Mama Said Knock You Out (12″ Remix)
2. Mama Said Knock You Out (Hot Mix-Long)
3. Mama Said Knock You Out (7 A.M. Mix)
4. Mama Said Knock You Out (For Steering Pleasure)
5. Around the Way Girl (Untouchables Remix)
6. Around the Way Girl (Crypt 12″ Mix)
7. Around the Way Girl (Jerv’s 12″ Rub Mix)
8. Around the Way Girl (Marley Rub)
9. To Da Break Of Dawn (Remix Version)
10. To Da Break Of Dawn (Bug Out Mix)
11. 6 Minutes of Pleasure (Hey Girl Remix)
12. The Boomin’ System (The Underground Mix)
13. Eat Em Up L Chill (Chill Remix) (from “6 Minutes Of Pleasure 12”)
14. Strictly Business (from the Strictly Business original motion picture soundtrack)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s