“That Female Side is Part of Me” – Bruce Jenner

Sawyer-Jenner@MzHanaG

In an exclusive abc interview with Diane Sawyer, Bruce Jenner, a 65-year-old Olympic gold medalist and parent of six, talked candidly about his gender identity.

This was hard for Bruce because he didn’t want to “disappoint people.”

One of the boldest statements that Bruce made during his interview, is that while he has always been a woman in his soul, he does not have the desire to be with a man and never has. Bruce said “it’s apples and oranges.”

Bruce has always struggled with gender issues and started estrogen hormone therapy 30 years ago (in the ’80s), which he was on for four years. Meanwhile, Bruce has managed to parent six children, which lends some credence to his statement made about not being gay, even though he plans to make the transition into a woman.

He said to Sawyer, “As of now I have all the male parts and all that kind of stuff, so in a lot of ways we’re different, OK? But we still identify as female.”

Sawyer asked Bruce if his plan to transition into a woman was a publicity stunt “for the show.”

Here’s what Bruce had to say:

“We’re going to make a difference in the world with what we’re doing. And if the whole Kardashian show gave me that foothold to be able to go out there and do some good, then I’m all for that. Understand?”

One of the hardest things Bruce said he’s had to do is break the news of his transition into a woman, to his kids. He explained to his children that in raising them they received as much of his feminine side, as his fatherly side.

Of all of his children, Bruce said that Kim has been the easiest to talk to about being transgender, which is due in part to Kanye, who told Kim: “I can be married to the most beautiful woman in the world, which I am; I can have the most beautiful little daughter in the world, and I do; but I’m nothing if I can’t be true to myself. If I can’t be true to myself they don’t mean anything.”

Following the two-hour interview, the Kardashian/Jenner clan took to social media to publicly express their support for Bruce.

Kourtney Kardashian tweeted, “Couldn’t be a more proud daughter. With courage and bravery, let’s change the world,” and, “I am honored to stand by Bruce’s side and support him.”

Khloe Kardashian tweeted, “Just finished watching the #BruceJennerInterview with the family. Bruzer, I’m soooo proud of you! Dads are really heroes.”

From Kim Kardashian, who has been the most accepting “by far,” “Love is the courage to live the truest, best version of yourself. Bruce is love. I love you Bruce. #ProudDaughter.”

Kylie Jenner also opened up on social media to convey how proud she was of her dad: “Understandingly, this has been very hard for me. You will hear what I have to say when I’m ready to but this isn’t about me,” and “I’m so proud of you, Dad. You are so brave. My beautiful Hero.”

After Brandon Jenner posted a throwback pic of he and dad, captioned “Proud son,” Kendall Jenner added, “I love you, so very proud of you, my hero.”

Lastly, ex-wife Kris Jenner tweeted her support: “not only was I able to call him my husband for 25 years and father of my children, I am now able to call him my hero.”

Bruce said that he considered suicide. Realizing that he could have got a gun and shot himself to get rid of “all of the pain, and go to a better place,” he decided not to. He said “Nah, I can’t do that. I wana know how my story ends… I mean, how does my story end?”

In the words of Oprah Winfrey: “The only courage you will need is to live the life that you were meant to.”

Full interview available here.

Leave a Reply

